Thursday, 28 November 2019


MINI MASTER PIECES Book | english paper piecing

Today I get to share with you the new book from Alyce Blyth of Blossom Heart Quilts.


I think that Alyce describes her book the best ......


I like to think of Mini Masterpieces as Alyce Blyth in a book. It is me teaching a range of different quilting techniques through easy-to-achieve projects that are suitable for beginner and experienced quilters alike. It is me encouraging you to just try with no pressure to complete a full-sized quilt project. To just play with the sole aim of learning and playing and creating for the sake of creating.

Each section, or lesson in the book looks at a different technique and there are 12 lessons in total. Within each lesson there is a sample block and a mini make or mini quilt which of course can be turned into a cushion, and yes Alyce has that covered too or anything else your heart desires.

Alyce set me the task of playing with the English Paper Pieced block for the tour and I just could not help myself, I had to fussy cut it :)

First I scanned the template into my Scan n Cut and cut four. Next I dived head first into my Liberty stash and pulled one of my favourite prints - 'Strawberry Thief Y' from the Bespoke Collection - available here.  A quick play and my fussy cuts were sorted, my thread and thread balm were not to far away and before I knew it I had this cute fussy cut block english paper pieced together and then appliqu├ęd onto the background.


Starting in January, Alyce is hosting the .....
all the details can be found in her blog post here.

To see everyone else who is helping Alyce celebrate the launch of her new book please visit the links below.

November 18 – Simple Squares
Sarah from Sarah Ashford Studio – @sarahashfordstudio
Janice from Better Off Thread – @betteroffthread
November 19 – Strip Piecing
Molli from Molli Sparkles – @mollisparkles
Sarah from SariDitty – @sariditty
November 20 – Snowball Blocks
Ali from Arabesque Scissors – @arabesquescissors
Kitty from Night Quilter – @nightquilter
November 21 – HSTs
Andrea from 3rd Story Workshop – @3rdstoryworkshop
Caitlin – @caitlinpolden
November 22 – Flying Geese
Kirsty from Bonjour Quilts – @bonjour_quilts
Karen from Karen Lewis Textiles – @karenlewistextiles
November 23 – HRTs
Jemima from Tied With A Ribbon – @tiedwitharibbon
Rebecca from Bryan House Quilts – @bryanhousequilts
November 24 – Simple Curves
Nicole from Modern Handcraft – @modernhandcraft
Ava & Neve – @ava_and_neve
November 25 – Complex Curves
Elisabeth from Elisabew Quilts – @elisabew
Samantha from Aqua Paisley – @aqua_paisley
Christopher from The Tattooed Quilter – @the_tattooed_quilter
November 26 – Improv Curves
Aurifil – @aurifilthread
Nicholas from Quilts From The Attic – @quiltsfromtheattic
November 27 – Applique
Lauren from Molly And Mama – @mollyandmama
Sedef from Down Grapevine Lane – @downgrapevinelane
November 28 – EPP
Sharon from Lilabelle Lane – @lilabellelane (you are here)
Jodi from Tales of Cloth – @talesofcloth
November 29 – FPP
Kristy from Quiet Play – @quietplay

Happy Stitching,
Sharon x


3 comments :

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment as I know your time is valuable. hugs xx